Home > cub dad, Wolf Cubs > A Season of Scouting Begins

A Season of Scouting Begins

We arrive at the first den meeting as a new Wolf cub member. My son is uniformed. He’s not sure what to expect. I’m doing my best to encourage him that what we are about to do is going to be fun.

Earlier in the day, we received a call that that the location of the den meeting had been changed from the church to the den leader’s home. We arrive a few minutes before 7:00 p.m. His son is a Wolf cub and reaches out accepting my son into the den. There are a few other cubs all playing in the backyard. My son jumps in.

It was more awkward for me as a cub dad. I was once a cub. I understand the processes towards achievements. I’m doing my best to remember names. Six boys and an adult partner for each one. I become the observer trying to stay out of the way. Trying not to be a goober. Trying not to breech the process of my son’s acceptence by his peers. I stay within range to give audibles to my son to encourage him. He’s receiving encouragement from his own peers right out of the gate. First den night dynamics.

The hour passes quickly. The den leader and assistant den leader are working the cubs through the first achievement involving the American flag. The den leaders are working two-deep leadership before I even know what that means or how important it is.

The cubs are paired up and take turns decorating what will be their den flag. At the end of the meeting, we are introduced to a fund raiser selling popcorn. The emphasis is on what the cubs receive for different levels of sales.

That was just under 3 months ago. I have watched, patlrticipated in, and learned a few things since then.

1. My son knows he is a member of a group of boys all working together towards the same goals. He knows he is accepted and he contributes to help the Pack go.

2. Pride of being a scout carries into other areas in my son’s life. He reaches into something deep inside of himself since joining scouting and pulls up bravery. Bravery that gets him through an otherwise scary dentist visit.

3. We dig father/son camping.

I have since then stepped up to the call and volunteer as the assistant den leader for the Wolf den of Pack 711. Our season of scouting has begun.

Categories: cub dad, Wolf Cubs
  1. December 1, 2009 at 11:29 pm | #1

    Great posts…love your description of your journey

  2. m. barnabe
    December 5, 2009 at 2:37 pm | #2

    Pleased to read this blog. I have a Boy Scout and Webelos Scout. My third son is waiting to become Tiger Scout next Fall.

  3. Tom Ellett
    December 18, 2009 at 8:05 am | #3

    Enjoying your blog–I’m basically in the same circumstances (although I can’t be in voluntary leadership as an atheist). I’m wondering if you’ve read “Scout’s Honor” by Peter Applebome?

    • December 18, 2009 at 2:28 pm | #4

      Thanks Tom. I have not read Scout’s Honor. Would you recommend this to me as a rookie in the Scouting World?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

